Funderingar

Φόβος


Jag är en person med många funderingar och i min blogg vill jag dela med mig av dem, oavsett om de är bra eller dåliga. Därför kommer en del inlägg kanske vara lite mera allvarliga än andra.

Psykisk (o)hälsa är något jag brinner för. Jag tror starkt på att vi måste prata mera om det. En psykisk sjukdom ska inte vara svårare att prata om än ett benbrott eller en förkylning. Därför har jag valt att dela med mig av en del personliga erfarenheter.

Om du eller någon runt dig lider av psykisk (o)hälsa, eller om du bara funderar över något kan du alltid kontakta din skolhälsovårdare, lokala hvc eller Psykosociala Förbundet. På deras hemsida hittar du även en “ställ en fråga” funktion. Där kan du, anonymt, ställa en fråga åt Ancha och Camilla.

Fobi (av grekiska φόβος, fobos, “fruktan”) kallas en stark upplevelse av rädsla, starkt obehag eller stark äckelkänsla som, oftast utan saklig grund, återkommande infinner sig då en person ställs inför, eller riskerar att ställas inför, ett visst objekt eller en viss situation som personen hyser stark aversion mot. För att betraktas som en fobi måste den negativa känsla som upplevs vid eller inför exponeringen vara orimlig eller överdriven i intensitet. källa

Av min imponerade samling  fobier är nog min podofobi den som är mest irrationell. Jag avskyr fötter. Hatar fötter. Det går över mitt förstånd varför man frivilligt vill gå på fotvård, än mera varför man skulle vilja utföra fotvård på någon annan. Jag tvivlar starkt på att just denna funktion skulle ha hjälpt mig om jag levt på stenåldern. 😉

Men ibland utvecklas en fobi alldeles för mycket. Den tar över livet och i vissa fall förstör den mycket.

Så blev det, och till viss del är det ännu,det för mig.

Mina svåraste fobier i dagens läge är min socialfobi, min emetofobi och min bakteriefobi. Fast min socialfobi blivit mycket bättre finns det mycket jag ännu måste jobba på. Min emetofobi/bacillfobi går i vågor. Vintrarna är värst, det är då de flesta bacillerna färdas.

Min bacillfobi leder till en del udda beteenden för min del. Första gången mina vänner såg mig äta pommes fritt tyckte de nog jag var alldeles knäpp. Jag vägrar nämligen röra min mat om jag inte haft möjlighet att tvätta händerna ordentligt före.

Jag måste erkänna, ibland skäms jag, för jag vet att det irrationellt. Ibland blir jag illa till mods över kommentarer och blickar.

 En sak jag lärt mig de senaste åren är att det alltid blir lättare om man berättar varför man gör som man gör. En del i mitt nyårslöfte för det här året är att vara mig själv. Det innebär att jag vägrar gömma delar av mig. Jag kör helt kallt på “gilla läget eller försvinn” 😉

Fobier kan bli bättre, och i vissa fall försvinna helt. Det gäller bara att  våga utsätta sig för det man är rädd för. Ibland hjälper det kanske att prata med någon om det, ibland måste man kanske ha mera hjälp.

I mitt fall har det, som jag redan nämnde, hjälpt att berätta för personer i min omgivning om mina fobier. Jag har även utsatt mig för de saker jag tycker är obehagliga.

Fobier är vanliga, det finns hjälp att fås och du är inte onormal fast du tycker fötter, blod eller hål är obehagliga.

-I


 

I’m a person that does  a lot of thinking and in my blog I want to share all of my thoughts, good or bad. This means some of my posts are a bit more serious than others.

Something I really passionated about is mental health. I believe that this is a subject we must discuss more. It should be as easy to talk about mental health as it is to talk a bout a broken bone or the flue. Thats why I’ve decided to share some of my personal experiences and thoughts.

If you or someone around you suffers from a mental illness, or if you just have questions about it, you should always contact the schoool nurs, your local health care  (if you live in Finland and speak Swedish  you can contact Psykosociala Förbundet.  On their webpage there is also a “ask a question” function.  There you can, anonymously  send in your question to Ancha and Camilla. )

phobia is a type of anxiety disorder, defined by a persistent fear of an object or situation.[1] The phobia typically results in a rapid onset of fear and is present for more than six months. The affected person will go to great lengths to avoid the situation or object, typically to a degree greater than the actual danger posed. If the feared object or situation cannot be avoided, the affected person will have significant distress.  source

I think we all suffer from one or more phobias, sometimes they are just hard to talk about.

A phobia can sometimes be looked upon as a weakness. One might even say some feel as if it is a taboo subject.

Phobias, and anxiety, is something thats “left over” from way back in time. It was the feeling of anxiety that triggered our flight och fight respons. Scientists say phobias like akrophobia,klaustuphobia and agoraphobia were phobias we needed then                                                    (To be scared of highs, wide open spaces och small spaces)

Personally I have quite the collection of phobias. Some more rational than others.

The most irrational of my phobias is my podophobia. I despise feet. I Hate feet. It’s beyond my understanding why one would want to go for a pedicure. Even less why you would want to give one to someone. I strongly doubt this phobia would have helped me in the stone age. 😉

But sometimes a phobia can grow so big that it starts affecting you day to day life.

That’s what happened, and still is happening, to me.

The phobias I struggle whit on a day to day basis are my social anxiety, emetophobia and my germophobia. Even if my social anxiety has gotten a lot better I still have som things  to work on. My emetophobia and germophobia goes up and down. It’s worst in the winter, thats when alot of germs are flowing around.

My phobia of germs leads to an array of strange and peculiar behaviour. The first time my friends saw me eat a french fry they probably thought I’d gone completely coco. You see, I won’t touch my food if I’m not able to wash my hands properly before.

I have to admit, sometimes I get ashamed. Sometimes I get sad from the looks I get.

One thing I’ve learnt the past couple of years, is that it really helps to tell people. My new years resolution is to be me, and my phobias are a part of me, therefore I refuse to hide them. If you don’t like it you can leave 😉

Phobias can improve, and in some cases disappear. But it takes a lot of hard work and sometimes you might need help.

For me it’s really helped to tell people around me about my phobias and to expose myself to the things I find uncomfortable.

Phobias are very common,there is help to get and you’re completely normal even if you dislike feet, blod or holes are scary.

-I

f475f-garn

Leave a Reply

